Skip to main content

Iowa Soybean Research Center

in collaboration with the Iowa Soybean Association

ISRC/ISU Welcomes ISA’s New Senior Director of Research Dr. Christie Wiebbecke

Wiebbecke welcome reception
Top photo from left: ISA’s retiring Senior Director of Research Ed Anderson, ISRC Director Greg Tylka, ISA’s Senior Director of Research Christie Wiebbecke and Associate Dean for Research and Discovery Carolyn Lawrence-Dill. Bottom photo from left: Mark Licht, agronomy; Madan Bhattacharyya, agronomy; Christie Wiebbecke, ISA and Fernando Miguez, agronomy, share introductions during the welcome reception.

The ISRC hosted a reception on February 28th to welcome and introduce ISA’s new Senior Director of Research Dr. Christie Wiebbecke to ISU researchers. The event was held in the Seed Science Building atrium with introductions made by associate dean for research and discovery Carolyn Lawrence-Dill and ISA’s retiring Senior Director of Research Ed Anderson. Dan Robison, Endowed Dean of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Kendall Lamkey, agronomy chair and Steven Harris, plant pathology, entomology and microbiology chair also attended.

 After working nearly two decades in research and development with an emphasis in soybean breeding, Wiebbecke will lead the ISA’s Research Center for Farming Innovation. In addition, Wiebbecke will chair the ISRC’s Industry Advisory Council and serve as a member of the center’s management team.

Originally, from Traer, Iowa, Wiebbecke graduated with a BS in agronomy from ISU, holds a Master of Arts in Education: Curriculum and Instruction from Chapman University and earned a PhD in Plant Breeding from ISU.

Wiebbecke began her career as a teacher, sharing her passion for learning, science and agriculture with students. She then changed course, embarking on a career in research and development focusing on soybean breeding and developing new soybean varieties for farmers with Bayer Crop Science. Most recently, Wiebbecke served as a soybean technical product manager with Corn States - Bayer’s commercial licensing organization.